I can’t eat what now?

31 Jan

I went to a Chinese doctor/herbalist/acupuncturist to see if they could help me get rid of the eczema that I developed last summer. It was an interesting experience. The doctor seemed like a sweet lady, but spoke no English, so a translator sat with us.

She asked me a series of questions, and put her finger on my wrists one at a time.

“Are you hands and feet cold often?”

“Yes, all the time”

“Do you have joint pain?”

“Yes, constantly.”

“Is your face warm a lot?”

“Yes”

Funny how she could determine all of that by just looking at my wrists, tongue and face. She prescribed me some herbal concoction to drink twice daily for three weeks and when I come back, she’s going to test my blood.

She said that she thinks I have some auto-immune problems, which makes sense, since my cold allergy was first misdiagnosed as Lupus and I’m allergic to everything.

Anyways, the point of this post…the doctor also gave me a list of things to avoid eating:

– Fish/shellfish (ok, fine)
– Red meat (not a problem, I rarely eat it)
– Alcohol (enh, kinda sucks)
– Spicy food (BRUTAL)
– Sweet stuff, ESPECIALLY CHOCOLATE (she circled it AND starred it)

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOooooooooooooooooooooooooooOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOooooooooooooooooooooooooOOOOOOOOOO!

3 Responses to “I can’t eat what now?”

  1. makeda January 31, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

    BUMMERRRRRRRRRR

  2. jo February 1, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    let me know how it goes- i have been considering seeing a similar person for my legs. hopefully chocolate is not an issue.

Leave a Reply

