Rolled Oats? Psh, you must be joking!

11 Jan

Curse the day when oats started becoming pounded and processed! I was recently introduced to Irish Steel-Cut Oats, and I won’t ever go back to the flat stuff. Never, I say!

I will gladly sacrifice the 40 minutes cooking time (for three days worth of breakfasts) for it. I will gladly pay more to never, ever have to eat the gloopy, starchy, clumpy gray matter of my youth.

So, let me tell you about my take on THE BEST PORRIDGE EVER.

Oats in their purest form!

Ingredients
1 cup Irish Steel-Cut Oats (also called “pinhead” oats)
2 cups of coconut water (available in most health food shops)
2 cups water
1.5 tsp sea salt
Maple syrup (to taste)
Non-dairy milk (to taste)
Pomegranate seeds
Nutmeg

Instructions
1. Bring the waters to a brisk boil and then sprinkle the oats in while stirring
2. Stir often for 5 or so minutes until the starches start to release and the oats get a bit thicker
3. Reduce the heat and simmer uncovered for 20 minutes (stir a few times) – then add the salt and stir
4. Simmer for 10 more minutes…
5. When oats are creamy and all the water is absorbed, stir in about 1/2 – 1 cup non-dairy milk (I use unsweetened almond milk), drizzle over maple syrup (to taste), a dash or two of nutmeg, and some pomegranate seeds

Dream Porridge, hellooooooo....

And here’s what the coconut water we get here in Amsterdam looks like:

Thanks to Roger Ebert for tweeting about this!

1 cup of oats yields about 3 breakfasts for me. Keeps well in the fridge for a few days; just microwave for a couple minutes and voila – instant oats 🙂

8 Responses to “Rolled Oats? Psh, you must be joking!”

  1. Steve January 11, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    That’s a great recipe for us non milk drinkers, cheers :]

    • amansterdam January 12, 2011 at 11:28 am #

      I avoid dairy, I can’t stand cow/goat/animal milk. I think almond milk tastes better anyways.

  2. jo January 15, 2011 at 11:49 pm #

    http://www.almightydad.com/fitness-nutrition/oatmeal-for-breakfast-rolled-or-steel-cut

    I can’t find anything that says that rolled oats are wrong unless you’re a hippie dippy and you hate anything that doesn’t grow gnarled right out of the ground in your own backyard with dirt you made out of your composting toilet.

    I too like steel cut oats especially because PC makes a relatively inexpensive version but they take a long time when I have a short time and I find the scum layer I scrape off the top ala mushroom soup makes my face screw up in a less than appetizing way.

    I have moved on to polenta and rapini for breakfast likely made by monsanto and genetically modified. Take that.

    But your oatmeal does look good.

  3. jo January 15, 2011 at 11:51 pm #

    wait. did you say microwave?

    • amansterdam January 16, 2011 at 9:04 am #

      Comment of the year – thank you dear sister! Rolled oats aren’t wrong, it’s just after eating steel-cut, I can’t fathom going back to them.

      Yeah, steel-cut does take longer (and that film is gross, especially when it sticks to the spoon when you’re stirring), but it also keeps better in the fridge and reheats better than rolled oats.

      And yes, I did say microwave :/ Gotta get those gamma rays somehow.

      Re: Monsanto – I learned that the Netherlands has the most genetically modified food in the world.

      • jo January 16, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

        for real?

        i’m not surprised. polenta makes me feel self conscious like a low-cut shirt. monsanto is evil. round-up is the most used pesticide in the world and monsanto has the monopoly on the world’s staples. what does that tell you about Gm’d food?

        what i discovered today: panettone bread plus nutella plus rosemary’d strawberries equals the greatest mouth explosion for breakfast or otherwise.

  4. tommy June 8, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    I am searching for where to buy rolled oats in Amsterdam?!?!!? any suggestions?

    • amansterdam June 8, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

      Hi Tommy,

      You can get them at the expat store on the Leidsestraat, Einholtz. Or something like that? It’s about EUR 12 a can (expensive)…I usually bring back 3 or 4 when I’m in the UK though.

Leave a Reply

