Huh. I didn’t expect that.

22 Jul

My average blog read has gone from 10 to nearly 200. I was talking to my aunt on Skype the other night, and she was saying they were doing a segment on the radio about how blogging is now the ‘big thing’ in weight-loss motivation. I can imagine why. Going public forces you to be honest with yourself, which means admitting your failures and learning from your mistakes. And, of course, documenting the journey and hopefully the end result too. This isn’t really a weight loss blog though, ’cause I’m definitely going to be using this space to write about cooking, Amsterdam expat life, things I’m making and just general bitching. So, don’t pigeon-hole me just yet 🙂

I’ve been a long time ‘member’ of an online music community/mega-clique  (though, I wonder how much music is actually discussed  there these days), and there are some very, very cool people posting on there about a variety of topics, often ending in back-and-forth jabs and grade school name-calling, but amongst all the bullshit, there’s a thread called “Get Off your Ass and Exercise you Lazy Fucks”. I’s got 82 pages, 3,247 posts, and 33, 259 reads. There’s a lot of good motivational stuff going on there. Who knew that a bunch of indie dufuses could be so into exercising? It’s one of the very few things that makes me really lament that I’m no longer living in Toronto. I could so do with some kick-ass fitness buddies.

Stillepost.ca ya prucks

Anyways, I successfully made it through the entire day yesterday without a visit to the FAT table in the office. It’s looking like my colleagues did a tidy job of ploughing through most of it anyways.

Tonight, I go to Zumba.

2 Responses to “Huh. I didn’t expect that.”

  1. lizard July 22, 2010 at 9:02 am #

    i am also consciously avoiding the FAT table at work this month, ironically maintained by the skinniest person in our team.

    • amansterdam July 22, 2010 at 10:30 am #

      it’s sabotage, clearly she doesn’t want anyone competing for that title!

Leave a Reply

