I made this

20 Nov

I’m trying to bake off-recipe these days. Taking what I’ve learned over the past however many years and just trying stuff out. I went to a dinner party last week and wanted to bring a dessert. Something comforting (it’s cold here) and warm and seasonal. I didn’t have a lot of time…crumble? Or something a bit special?

I decided to make a crumble…er, tart? It’s base is a mix of toasted pecans and hazelnuts, chestnut flour, melted butter, rolled oats, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves. I then filled it with a vanilla and mandarin infused custard and layered thin slices of pear and apple on top. Then, to be a fancy pants, I made a rose out of thinly sliced apples and placed it in the middle. And then to be extra fancy pants, I made a salted caramel sauce. And admittedly, I had to make a second batch because I melted the rubber spatula in the first batch. Woops.

Anyways, this is how it worked out:

Apple and Pear Crumble Tart

The verdict was that the tart was a success. It was gobbled up pretty quickly and I’m pretty happy that I can now bake and cook without a recipe and have it turn out, well, pretty damn tasty.

Last week I hosted a small brunch crew and made a pumpkin pie stuffed french toast. I don’t want to brag, but it was pretty EPIC.

4 Responses to “I made this”

  1. Lily December 15, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    YUM, that looks delicious! I just found your blog and it’s so nice to find other baking obsessed gals in Amsterdam. Bon appétit!

    • amansterdam December 16, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

      Hey, thanks Lily! Your blog also rocks, the photography is outstanding! I’ve bookmarked you and will definitely be doing some catch-up blog reading.

  2. Zoe November 25, 2013 at 4:47 pm #

    Hi- I saw this on google- It looks beautiful and I’d love to make it. Do you have any semblance of a recipe I could follow? Thanks!

    • amansterdam November 26, 2013 at 4:19 pm #

      Hey Zoe,

      I didn’t use a recipe but since it’s now seasonal again to make this I’ll probably attempt to make it (or something like it) again. My oven is broken right now and it’ll probably be a few days to get it fixed but when I do make this I’ll right down the quantities and let you know.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

